Skip to content

The Long and Winding Skyway

February 3, 2011

For lunch today I made the pilgrimage over to Hell’s Kitchen. I haven’t gone there for lunch since I started working downtown and this was my last chance. It is about a fifteen minute walk from my building – all of it inside. Walking over was a bittersweet moment for me because I was able to navigate there without looking at any maps. I couldn’t help but thinking that I am leaving downtown just as I have mastered the skyway.

Chris, of the butter chicken, joined me there and hopefully I didn’t bore him with explaining every little thing on the menu. I probably said ,”So when I made that…” a few too many times, but it is the first time I have been there since I started the project and I was having fun.

To start things off we inhaled a Pecan Roll while we tried to decide on our entrées. I also convinced Chris to try a cup of the mahnomin porridge, but it might have been too rich as an appetizer for lunch. He gave me a good portion of the porridge and I decided I actually liked the batch I made for my brunch a little better. Don’t tell Mitch.

Chris was debating heavily between the Lemon Ricotta Hotcakes and the Huevos Rancheros. A quandary that was finally solved by getting the waiter’s opinion. He went with the Heuvos. I’m pretty sure he enjoyed them because I only manged to steal one bite.

As for me I wanted to order something I had never had before to give me another point of reference when I make the recipe. I fought the urge to order the Reuben and instead got the Ham and Pear Crisp with Sweet Potato Fries. It was a little hard to eat with the ham and pears sliding around in the melted Swiss and fontina cheese, but it was highly enjoyable. When I was describing it to Kira this evening I said it was like eating a Brie sandwich. Interestingly enough the Sweet Potato Fries are not a recipe in the cookbook. They were a great compliment to the sandwich so I will probably look one up for when I make this meal.

I didn’t see Mitch while we were there, but I am pretty sure Mitch’s partner, Steve Meyer, popped out of the kitchen for a few minutes. Steve is the genius behind the Crab cakes and the Heuvos Rancheros.

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: Inside, the restaurant a blood red cave with black linens and Ralph Steadman paintings-leering monsters in bright clothes, like the nightmare side of Sesame Street-lining the walls.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2011 1:12 pm

    I like that you thought your porridge tasted better. There’s just something about home made food that tops restaurant food any day, even if it’s the same recipe.

  2. February 4, 2011 11:30 am

    Great post! I don’t think the similarities will end any time soon.
    Quick question: Do you know if Sarah is able to post her reviews on her page,? I don’t know if you can add posts to a new page.

    • February 4, 2011 12:16 pm

      I haven’t seen that set up before – but I think you could create a second blog and have a link to that or maybe even embed it in a page on your blog.

      [Update: I just did a quick search and it states pretty clearly that you can only have one posts page per blog. Sorry.]

Leave a Reply

