Skip to content

Saint Paul: The Wrath of Continuing Winter

February 2, 2011

I prepared my famous meatloaf recipe tonight with the help of my son Max. He added all the spices while I read them out. We were supposed to have this last week, but Max was sick and then he was on a school trip so it just didn’t happen. And if Max is going not to be here for dinner there really isn’t any point in making meatloaf. We didn’t cook anything tonight, but we have the meatloaf ready to go for tomorrow’s dinner. Max is learning about nutrition in cub scouts so we tried something new this time. In an effort to increase the amount of vegetables in our diet we minced a carrot and added it into the meatloaf mixture. I am a little worried about texture, but I am pretty sure it won’t effect the taste. I’ll report back tomorrow and let you know if we ruined it.

Meatloaf is not what I sat down to write about. I want to go on record with so many others (3DogBlog, Modern Millie, Whatever, Wdavenport, and many more) and state I am tired of the cold. Typically February is the month that winter becomes tiring for me, but we are usually more than one day in. Having to wait today for the bus while crystals of snow pelted my face probably didn’t help. We had a few nice days last week and I think that just made me realize what I’ve been missing. People always associate the long winter with being depressed, but this year I think it is just making people angry. I hope whoever is in charge of watching Mr. Groundhog come out of his hole tomorrow grabs him by the scruff of his neck and pulls him out – shadow or no shadow.

I will be going with Max to an all day winter camp this Sunday. We will do some snow tubing and maybe play hockey. Hopefully that will help me get excited about this season again.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2011 9:44 pm

    i like your theory that instead of getting depressed we are getting angry. our anger will keep us warm. on to march!

  2. February 2, 2011 7:22 am

    He didn’t see his shadow and that’s supposed to mean an early spring! Unfortunately, I have my doubts…

  3. February 2, 2011 6:24 am

    The groundhog better not expect 6 more awful weeks of winter… or I’ll strangle myself.

    • February 2, 2011 1:06 pm

      Aren’t you going to Columbia soon? It should be warm there.

      • February 5, 2011 1:23 pm

        Yes I’m going to Colombia soon, but that doesn’t mean I want to come back to a still cold winter!

Leave a Reply

