Skip to content

Let it Beet

February 2, 2011

This weekend I am making a salmon dish that is garnished with mint leaves and a beet purée. The pictures should be marvelous. The purée will last up to five days in the fridge which means I am able to make it ahead of time. Given the timing issues of cooking fish it seemed wise to get this out of the way. Until I purchased these beets (pictured to the left) I am reasonably certain I have never seen a beet still  attached to its greenery. I certainly have never cooked with fresh beets before. I have a couple left over from this recipe and my inclination is to slice them and serve them as a side dish for some future meal. Someone also mentioned a beet salad. We’ll see.

Making the purée was pretty basic, but a new experience. To start I peeled and chopped the beets. I wasn’t thinking about the beet juice the peeling would produce. By the time I was done peeling three beets my hand looked pretty red. Also, there is now a dark red thumbprint on the page for beet purée in my Damn Good Food cookbook.

After I washed my hands (it mostly came off), I boiled the beets in chicken broth until the were soft. I drained off the chicken broth before tossing them into the food processor.

I blended them with butter, salt, and cinnamon. I couldn’t get an appetizing picture of the finished product –  probably because it is a mushy substance the color of blood. You’ll have to wait and see what it looks like when I make the salmon.

This recipe is a bit of the milestone because it is the 20% mark. 20% is actually 31.4, but I can’t make .4 of a recipe – well I could, but it wouldn’t really count so what would be the point. Sometimes I think that I will be able to make all of the Damn recipes within a year without really trying (assuming I can get all the ingredients), but then I sit down to plan out what I am going to make and I fill a month without even trying. I like the pace I have kept so far and I am reasonably certain that this pace will have me finishing before Thanksgiving. I have until 12/22/11. With all that extra time it should be a piece of cake – Angel Food Cake with Ginger-Tarragon Berries to be specific.

Recipe #32: Beet Purée

Damn Good Parody of the Day: There will be a purée, let it beet.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2011 2:05 pm

    I love fresh beets – my grandfather used to have them all the time when we were kids – and I grew to love them – they take a bit to get used to – but I can related with the stained hands!

  2. February 3, 2011 10:11 am

    i love fresh beets but when i’m done making them the kitchen looks like there’s been a massacre.

    you can boil the beet greens, too, and eat them like spinach. extremely good and good for you.

    • February 3, 2011 10:13 am

      I am learning so much about cooking and new foods doing this project. Of course when it comes to fresh vegetables there is a lot of potential for me to learn.

  3. February 3, 2011 7:45 am

    I like salmon and beets, I never thought to put the two together, huh..who knew? Oh wait you did! 🙂
    I look forward to seeing the final dish. I just might dare to try the recipe. Thanks for sharing!

  4. February 3, 2011 7:39 am

    Mike, you made me laugh out loud with your parody! I wonder how many people will actually get it. How did the beet mush taste? I’ve never had fresh beets before, only canned.

    • February 3, 2011 8:26 am

      I must have been really tired because I just put it right in the fridge without tasting it. I will rectify that tonight so that I am not trying it for the first time with the meal.

Leave a Reply

