Skip to content

Comfort Food Gluttony

January 29, 2011

Today was a busy day so I was relieved that the cooking part consisted mostly of boiling. I boiled a chicken, I boiled potatoes, and I boiled homemade egg noodles. I did have to pull the chicken meat off of the bone (which I’ve never done before), but I did that while the potatoes boiled. Simply described this meal is mashed potatoes topped with homemade chicken noodle soup. Good solid comfort food.  It doesn’t look like much, but it was very tasty. I think the broth is supposed to be a little thicker, more like a gravy. I added flour and even a little corn starch, but it remained soupy. In the end I got hungry and decided it would taste the same but just require a spoon vs. a fork. I dished it out in bowls and it was..um..delicious. The recipe calls for a dash of cayenne pepper and I think that is what made it for me. It was a big pot of soup so a little cayenne didn’t make it spicy, but just gave it a little something.

An entire chicken is a bit much to eat for our family so we invited some friends over from down the street. They brought over some great roasted carrots and a salad to compliment my pure meat and potatoes entrée. I washed my meal down with a couple of Guinness and after I cleaned my bowl I tried to finish Max and Sarah’s as well.

I want to give proper credit to my kids for this meal. I could not have made it without their help. Max made sure the chicken didn’t boil away to nothing and Melanie (the pseudo-vegetarian) took the chicken out of the pot when it was ready. I wish I could have captured her expression of revulsion when she described the task, but you’ll just have to use your imagination.

Recipe # 30: Mitch’s Mashed Potatoes

Recipe #31: Aunt Fran’s Chicken and Noodles

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: This dish is so !@#$% good it’s unbelievable.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2011 9:40 am

    Mitch’s cookbook does pretty well on it’s own, but I am hoping he sees this blog at some point.

  2. January 30, 2011 6:54 am

    Mmmmm. I could have used this comfort food yesterday. I need to go buy this cookbook! And Mitch needs to give you kudos for helping him to sell more of them!

Leave a Reply

