Skip to content

I take Pride in my work

January 28, 2011

Soooo…this isn’t going to be about cooking.

Less than a year ago I started a new job that I have enjoyed quite a bit. The people are great, the work was mostly interesting, and it gave me a chance to feel like I was contributing something. I work downtown and I get to take the bus to work. I love the bus. You can get to work while reading a book.  (I have read about 50  books on the bus since I started this job.) And the government holidays are  awesome. A few weeks ago there was some conversation at work about budgeting my position beyond 2011 and it was not very optimistic. It’s a long ways off, but they are planning for 2012 already so it is easy to get a feel for these things. Nobody came out and said that it was going to be cut in exactly those terms, but there were hints that they would understand if I started looking. I figured what the heck I’ll throw my résumé on Monster.com and see what happens. And as long as I was there I did a quick search for SQL Server DBA. I saw a couple of openings that looked very interesting so I applied to them directly. That was the entirety of my job searching effort.*

That was exactly 18 days ago.  The Monday after I posted my résumé I had five messages on my machine from various recruiters and from the two jobs I had submitted to directly. There have been several days since then when I have come home to at least one message about a potential job. Melanie asked why I was getting so many messages. Answer: “Because Daddy is just cool like that.” In this time I’ve been on three in person interviews and a half a dozen or so phone interviews.  I honestly thought this was going to take months to find a position so when all of this activity started right away I wasn’t sure what to think. Kira asked me, “So, What’s the plan here?” and I had to admit that there was no plan. The plan had been to keep doing what I am doing and maybe, in a few months, if the job was still under the threat of being cut I would get serious about looking for a new one.

Earlier this week I went on a return interview at one of the companies and they offered me the job. I’d used my supervisor as a reference so he knew I was looking, but it still was not fun to come into work on Wednesday and give him the news. I was asked if I would stay if a counter offer could be approved. I said I might be persuaded and from what I am told a never before seen effort was taken to approve something quickly. In a system that can take months to order paper clips they tried to get permission to create new position in less than a day. I am told that they called my boss’s boss’s boss’s boss to see what could be done. Alas bureaucracy won out and they were not able to create anything. I have to admit I was a little relieved that the counter-offer fell through. It was going to be an impossibly hard decision.  I’ve made some good connections in the short time I have been here and, with a sincere apology to Mr. Davis my paper route manager in the 7th grade, this will be the hardest time I have ever had leaving a job.

At the same time I am stupidly excited about the new job. It is in a modern facility with state of the art technology. None of the companies I talked with in the last few weeks even came close on the technology. They are running some of the databases on solid state drives and they are using SQL Server 2008 R2.  Trust me, that is cool if you are a database geek like me.  The work will be challenging, but hopefully rewarding. They provide a catered lunch every day and after I start they will be issuing me a new iPhone 4. Just for the record the iPhone is pure gravy – I didn’t even know about it when I accepted the job. For those who know me well they might realize it could have been a strike against this company. I am an unabashed Microsoft man and have been known to make snide remarks about all things Apple. I find that when others are footing the bill I am not quite as opposed to Apple. Go figure.

I realize this post is a little self-serving, but it has been a fun whirlwind and it’s been a great boost to my self confidence. Sometimes it’s not enough to be smart, clever, ruggedly handsome, and an expert in your field. You need someone else to tell you those things. Oh, and modest too,  don’t forget modest.

In a last-ditch effort to make this about food I’m going to throw out a question. Since I only have one more week of working in downtown Minneapolis I am asking for lunch suggestions. For my last week of buying my lunch – Where should I eat? (Other than Hell’s Kitchen of course.)

Damn Good Job Search Quote of the Day:  They might have mentioned the iPhone.

*Results may vary.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2011 5:57 pm

    wow. if only journalists were in such demand… but congratulations!

    downtown minneapolis: the local? or its sister, pub, Kieran’s, now at Block E?
    oh! have you eaten at Spoon River yet? you must you must. over by the Guthrie. It’s brenda langston’s restaurant (she closed Cafe Brenda a while back). delicious fresh ingredients, not entirely vegetarian, as Cafe Brenda was, but delicious. i always end up having the omelet, for some reason, but they have great food.

    here’s a picture (from the celebratory lunch, when I turned my final manuscript in to my editor):

    http://lifewiththreedogs.blogspot.com/2009/08/mission-accomplished.html

  2. Michelle Alvarez permalink
    January 29, 2011 5:57 pm

    I have no lunch suggestions since I don’t live there…but Congratulations! When you are sought after that way at a time when people are desperate to find a job, wow, that’s pretty damn impressive! Good luck in your new job!

  3. January 29, 2011 4:11 pm

    Congrats on finding a job! Will you still be able to take public transportation? Which I love, because like you, I read a ton!

    • January 29, 2011 5:15 pm

      Alas, no. I will be driving to this job, which made the decision even harder. There’s still books on tape though.

  4. January 29, 2011 10:32 am

    That’s great news! I don’t think it’s self-serving, not these days when so many suddenly find themselves without a job. You managed to find a new one before it happened to you. Congratulations! 🙂

  5. January 29, 2011 7:58 am

    Congratulations, I’m excited for you too! 🙂 No doubt any transition can be tough but it does sound like it’s where you need to be…best wishes! Does this mean you won’t be posting here anymore? I ask because I just recently found your blog.

  6. January 29, 2011 6:31 am

    Congrats on the new job Mike! As a database geek myself, I can see why you’re over the moon about it!

  7. Dillon permalink
    January 29, 2011 12:19 am

    I have no lunch suggestions, seeing as I’ve never been to downtown Minneapolis (the closest I’ve been was the MoA a few times), but congratulations on all the great news!

Trackbacks

  1. I Know What Gold Does To Men’s Souls « The Mike/Mitch Project

Leave a Reply

