Skip to content

A Fragrance Chocolate can only Envy

January 27, 2011

I have always loved vanilla. (It’s the finest of the flavors.) Growing up my sister always ordered the chocolate milkshake, but I knew that vanilla was way better. Tonight the kitchen smelled amazingly of vanilla because I made my own vanilla extract.

I was able to find vanilla beans pretty easily at Penzey’s. I actually had a choice between Madagascar vanilla beans and Mexican vanilla beans. I went with Madagascar beans because that just sounded more exotic. The recipe says to scape the seed into the cognac and place in an airtight container. I don’t know if any of you have noticed or not, but I have been doing a lot of cooking lately. Airtight containers are getting hard to come by as I make more condiments and we store our delicious leftovers in the freezer. I decided that I could get away with using a large beer mug and covering the top with Press’n’Seal wrap. I also threw a zip lock bag over it just to be on the safe side.

I’ve never had any reason to purchase whole vanilla beans before and boy do I wish that wasn’t true. When I opened the container that the beans came in the scent was heavenly. I cut the beans open and it just got better. I’ve seen those little flecks of vanilla in my Bryer’s ice cream all my life, but I never before pictured what they looked like in the seed pod.

It will take about a month for the vanilla flavoring to be extracted into the cognac, which is why I am making this recipe this week. I made the mistake of telling Melanie that I needed the vanilla extract to make Ice Creams Puffs. I wouldn’t say she has been bugging me to make the vanilla , but she has definitely made inquiries as to its progress.

I only used two of the three beans I purchased for this extract. I came across a recipe for vanilla bean pudding on a blog called Smitten Kitchen and decided that we don’t really need three cups of vanilla extract. Not sure when I will make the pudding, but I think it needs to be done. Soon.

Recipe #29: Homemade Vanilla Extract

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day:  Will keep indefinitely.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Patti permalink
    January 28, 2011 12:06 pm

    Hmmm, sounds like a great gift idea….

  2. January 28, 2011 9:42 am

    Wow! Nice! I love working with vanilla beans and its essential oil in my products. I love its aroma! Can’t wait to see how you end up using it in one of your recipes! Great post! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

