Skip to content

Mustard Greens

January 25, 2011

Another condiment today. Pretty easy stuff – I just mixed dried mustard, flour and vinegar with a little sugar and put it in a jar. In my case a washed out peanut butter jar which my wife saved knowing I am going to make peanut butter at some point. It seemed to be a little thick, but I don’t really know what consistency it should be.

Normally the sub-recipes I make during the week have something to do with the coming weekend, but this is for a salmon tartare dish we won’t be having for a while. The  mustard has to “age and mellow” for three months before I sue it. I won’t know if it turned out well for quite some time. I didn’t spend much on the dry mustard, but I’ve used it in other recipes and it seems fine.

A quick horseradish update before I wrap up this post. The horseradish didn’t gain much kick overnight, but it worked OK as a condiment for our roast beef sandwiches. If I had it to do over again I would use less cream and possibly even more horseradish.

Recipe #28: Annie’s Mustard

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: …Annie Omer is today a fixture at the flagship Hell’s Kitchen – tall silver haired, in flowing black clothes – where Dana’s caramel rolls and coleslaw and her own homemade mustard are served.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 10:31 pm

    I actually thought for a second that you were going to sue the mustard – then I realized – just a typo 🙂 ! But sure made me smile for a sec!

    • June 21, 2011 10:35 pm

      Great. now I have to leave the typo in. 🙂 How am I going to explain that when we go to publish the book?

  2. January 26, 2011 6:05 am

    I’m interested to see how the mustard turns out. I’ll look for that post in about 3 months!

Leave a Reply

