Skip to content

The Horseradish Allowance

January 24, 2011

The first step is admitting you have a problem, right? For the last week I would make a recipe or two after dinner or after the kids were in bed. Last night I made the noodles, the only sub-recipe that I can make ahead of time for the Chicken and Noodles. I hadn’t planned on anything for tonight because Monday is for Cub Scouts. Alas, poor Max is not feeling well so I dropped off the snack at the den meeting and then went out to restock on Children’s Tylenol. When I got back I wandered around the kitchen feeling like I should be cooking. It was a little sad really. Not as sad as a sick Max, but fairly pathetic in its own right.

Then I remembered.

I bought fresh horseradish for the bloody marys and still had more than a bit left. I purposely planned roast beef sandwiches for dinner tomorrow so I could use the horseradish. Great! Now I have something to prepare. There isn’t a horseradish recipe in Damn Good Food so I sat down to Google a good recipe for making a horseradish sauce. As I sit down I notice that next to the computer is The Commonsense Kitchen by Tom Hudgens. I looked in the index for horseradish and viola, a recipe for Fresh Horseradish Cream. It is a very basic recipe and I will enter it here from memory.

  • 1/4 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 oz fresh horseradish, peeled  and finely grated
  • 1 cup heavy cream

Whip the ingredients until soft peaks form. Done. No trip to the grocery store necessary. Measuring 4 oz of horseradish was a little hard because I had 1 root’s worth. I put in about half of the root and tasted. Too weak. I put in the rest and I still wish it was stronger, but at least it tastes like horseradish. I dipped several carrots in the sauce to test it thoroughly and put the rest in the fridge for tomorrow night’s sandwiches. It was a decent cream sauce and I am sure it will be good on the roast beef, but I hope the horseradish flavor sets in a little more over night.

Commonsense Kitchen Recipe #1: Fresh Horseradish Cream

Commonsense Kitchen Quote of the Day: Serve [the horseradish cream] in a chilled silver dish, if you want to be especially English.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2011 10:55 am

    Hi, I’m new here. Love your blog! Great recipes can’t wait to try a few! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • January 27, 2011 11:06 am

      Unfortunately I haven’t been posting most of the exact recipes out of respect for the cookbook writers and their hard work. If you see one you like I could probably email it to you (I know Mitch or Cynthia would do that).

      • January 27, 2011 11:23 am

        Oh. Okay I understand. I’ll need to do some more browsing to pick one. Can I get back to you later? Thanks!

  2. January 25, 2011 6:14 am

    I am loving this blog more and more with every post!

Leave a Reply

