Skip to content

Rolling out the Dough

January 24, 2011

I admit it. I am intimidated by the idea of making noodles. It just sounds hard and with the 846 different brands of noodles on the market, why would I ever need to make them myself? The recipe I am making for dinner next Saturday is a comfort food dish with pulled chicken, mashed potatoes and homemade egg noodles. The ingredients are very common and the only thing I had to buy for this was the chicken – I already had potatoes. The ingredients for the egg noodles are equally simple – eggs, flour, salt, and a little cream (that’s right cream – it is Mitch after all.) I just keep cream on hand these days sort of like milk and eggs – it’s a staple. I mixed the eggs and flour by hand adding a little flour at a time. Once I had a big ball of dough I let it sit out.

Noodle Dough and Rolling Pin

I came back to it after an hour and rolled the dough out flat. The directions said to heavily flour the board and I did not skimp. I am will be boiling these so a little extra flour isn’t going to hurt. Worst case it will make the broth a little more gravy-ish.

Rolled out Noodle Dough

Damn Good Food says to use a sharp knife to cut the noodles, which would have worked fine but I used a pizza cutter. It worked great. (This is a tip I got from Tom Hudgens’ The Commonsense Kitchen, which I have out from the library.)

Cut Noodles

Next step was just to wait for them to dry. I am not using them until next Saturday so my plan is to freeze them. I was a little concerned that I was missing a chance to eat 100% fresh noodles so I threw a handful into a pot of boiling water with some chicken bullion and had a late night snack. My conclusion is that they probably could be cut a little thinner and that next week’s dinner will be wonderful.

Recipe #27: Egg Noodles

Damn Good Quote of the Day: I leave quite a bit of flour on my noodles to make it thick – From Aunt Fran’s original recipe card

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2011 3:37 pm

    Yum, those look really good! Homemade noodles are about 1000 times better than store-bought!

  2. January 25, 2011 1:44 pm

    I love love love homemade noodles – I actually prefer them to store bought! Way to go on making your own and now I’m jealous!

  3. January 24, 2011 9:44 pm

    I tried making my own noodles/pasta once – it didn’t look as tasty as yours. And mine definitely didn’t turn out very well. Maybe I’ll give it another go!

    • January 24, 2011 9:56 pm

      It was easier than I thought it would be, but I think it helped knowing that I am going to smother these in chicken broth/gravy. That will cover a lot of mistakes

  4. January 24, 2011 1:51 pm

    Don’t feel daunted – I can’t even make scrambled eggs!

  5. January 24, 2011 6:54 am

    I’ve always wanted to try making my own noodle, but have been such a wimp! You’re making me want to cook these kind of awesome meals so bad, Mike! But I’m trying very hard to drop some pounds, so… grilled meat & veggies for me.
    ~ shell

    • January 24, 2011 8:21 am

      Yup, my wife isn’t too thrilled with the high calorie menu I’ve been making. To make matters worse I have actually dropped a couple pounds since this project started. I guess all that wandering around in grocery stores is paying off.

  6. January 24, 2011 6:43 am

    I think once warmer weather comes and we all have our windows open and the fragrance of your cooking drifts toward our yard I will find this blog unbearably tempting.

    • January 24, 2011 8:33 am

      Once the weather turns I won’t need an open window because there are a good number of recipes that require grilling. You have been warned.

Trackbacks

  1. Tastes Like Antelope « The Mike/Mitch Project

Leave a Reply

