Skip to content

More than a Dollar Pancakes

January 22, 2011

There was a lot going on this morning and I find myself struggling to find a starting place. In the end I’ve decided to go with the Jack Webb approach and just give you the facts. There was delicious food, good conversation, full bellies, and lots of laughing. This is actually a pretty typical description of when my wife’s extended family congregates, but this time I was the one providing the food – with a lot of help from Kira. When I got back from the grocery store last night I realized we had only about a 1/2 gallon of milk left. She volunteered to run out this morning to get some more milk and also picked up the garnish items for the bloody marys.

I started with the bison sausage patties because I knew they could be kept warm in the oven while I cooked the pancakes. Before I stumbled off to bed last night I had measured out most of the non-perishable ingredients and put them in the mixing bowl ready to go. I pulled the ground bison meat and the fresh thyme out of the fridge and then mixed for three minutes in my radial human extension mixer with the paddle insert. [Translation: My arm and a big spoon.] This is my second time making the Maple-glazed Bison Sausage so I approached it easily and it gave me a chance to wake up before the real cooking began.

I had the heat a little too high and as a result I charred the sausage a little. This also caused what little grease exists in the lean bison meat to turn to smoke. Luckily this was an hour before anyone was set to arrive. We cracked a window to let the smoke out and I don’t think anyone noticed. The sausage was still very tasty so I didn’t let a little smoke get to me, but it didn’t seem like a very good start to things.

Once all the sausage was cooked, I put it on a plate in the oven to keep it warm and turned on the heat for the griddle. I made a lone pancake to start with so I could try a bite before serving them to everyone else. (You have to test these things you know.)

This first pancake turned out perfectly it was just a little golden on the outside, lite and fluffy on the inside. I sprinkled it with powered sugar and shared it out with Kira. I’m not sure it is exactly the same as what you will find at Hell’s Kitchen, but they were pretty damn good – if I do say so myself. I used the last bite as an enticement to get Melanie out of bed so she could help prep the fresh fruit. From there I started making pancakes and piling them on a plate. I was going along quite well until the first guests arrived, Kira’s Aunt Patty and Uncle Jerry. I was about to pour two more pancakes on the griddle when I realized that my batter had turned to soup. I’m not exactly sure what happened. Perhaps I didn’t mix it well enough (or at all) when I took it out of the fridge this morning or maybe sitting next to the hot stove the butter and ricotta cheese just lost their cohesion. Either way my next pancake didn’t even have enough substance to be a crêpe. I threw the batter out on the back porch for a few minutes to cool it down and dumped in some more butter.

While I was figuring out how to make my broken batter better we set Jerry and Patty up with a plate of food so they could enjoy everything while it was still warm.  Soon after appreciative noises were coming from the dining room. Music to my ears.

It was about this time that a Bloody Mary appeared next to me. While I was cooking Kira had been busy being a great host getting everyone coffee, tea, or bloody marys. In case you can’t see in the picture , the garnish includes  olives, cold shrimp, and a mini-jalapeño. I really enjoyed the intense flavor of the bloody mary – in small sips. I confess that I only drank about half of my bloody mary because once I sat down to eat my hotcakes the flavor was just too over powering.

I was able to recover the hotcake batter by adding a little flour and another cup or so of cold ricotta cheese. It was still a little thinner than it had started out, but I was back in the hotcake business.

The last item on the menu was the Mahnomin Porridge. Once everyone had pancakes in front of them I heated up the porridge. The consistency didn’t seem quite right so I doubled the amount of cream.  It was spot on after that. I spooned the porridge into small bowls and Melanie ferried it out to everyone. More appreciative noises followed.  Of all the items I have made so fat the porridge is the least amount of effort for the most amount of delicious. I cooked the rice earlier in the week so all I had to do was dump the rice, maple syrup, cream, berries, nuts, and more cream in a pot and heat for about 5 minutes.

It was a very satisfactory brunch. I am now up to 26 recipes, we got to use our fancy hand-made teapot, and I am pretty sure that nobody went home hungry. Thanks to everyone who made it and for all the kind words.

Recipe #25: Mahnomin Porridge

Recipe #26: Lemon-Ricotta Hotcakes

Damn Good Brunch Quote of the Day: The road to Hell’s Kitchen is paved with sub-recipes. ~MaryJo

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 10:45 am

    Wow! I wish I made such delicious breakfasts! I could take a cue from you… Thanks for sharing!

  2. tbaoo permalink
    February 11, 2011 5:59 am

    bison sausage patties, is that legal ? cheers alan

  3. February 9, 2011 11:35 pm

    This post made me hungry!

    Hope you’re enjoying the blog hop.

  4. February 9, 2011 6:08 am

    What an exquisite breakfast with lots of textures and colors for the palate.
    Oh, your photos are making me hungry. Glad to connect with you and your blog. I’ve enjoyed my visit. Thanks too for joining the blog hop.
    We did well. 20 brave souls signed on; do check them out and comment back… Awesome!
    Thanks again for linking up on the blog hop and see you soon. 🙂
    Have an abundant year!
    Elizabeth

  5. January 23, 2011 8:29 am

    My mouth is watering now. It all looks and sounds so delicious!

  6. Patti permalink
    January 22, 2011 5:53 pm

    How did we love it? Let me count the ways…Haven’t eaten another thing all day,
    I’ve been dreaming of the porridge in the refridgerator all afternoon, can’t wait to have another piece of bread for breakfast tomorrow, we both have silly smiles on our faces as we read this…something about being mentioned in public…and so on, and so on, and so on. Wouldn’t want you to get a big head….so suffice it to say it was a Damn Good Breakfast! (gosh you made me swear in print!) Thanks Mike and Kira, you both rock!

  7. January 22, 2011 5:43 pm

    when in doubt, throw in more butter! and double the amount of cream!

    i think i like the way you cook.

Trackbacks

  1. Be my Buddy February « Post A Day Challenge 2011

Leave a Reply

