Skip to content

Making Some Bread

January 19, 2011

The first step in making the sausage bread is to crumble the sausage into a big bowl. As I was doing this I was thinking, “This bread had better be good”, because the sausage smelled wonderful. I hoped I wasn’t using this delicious sausage to make something less tasty.

Come to think of it a lot of the ingredients in the bread had great aromas. I put in a cup of dark coffee that almost overpowered the savory tang of the sausage. I am a fan of iced coffee so I often have coffee concentrate in the fridge. Usually I will add milk to make an iced latte, but this time I added boiling water to brew a very dark, rich cup of coffee. Next I added some pumpkin pie spice and ground ginger. I added a few other things too, but walnuts and currants don’t really have much scent. Then I baked it for an hour and a half. The bread is cooling as I type this, but it still smells like a meaty gingerbread house in the kitchen. That is a good thing in case you were wondering. Sorry no picture for this, but I will include it in my Saturday breakfast pictures and give an update on how the bread actually tastes. In order to keep the bread from drying out I have refrained from slicing or eating any of it. My self restraint amazes even me sometimes.

This was not an overly difficult recipe, but it did require some planning and there are over a dozen ingredients. We had exactly enough pumpkin pie spice on hand. I hadn’t actually checked that before shopping on Sunday and I was glad to not have to run out for that one item. Mitch describes using a standing mixer fitted with a paddle to mix the batter. My standing mixer is my arm and it works pretty well, but this batter is very thick. My arm was quite tired after mixing for about 5 minutes, but the consistency seemed right so it was probably worth it.

Recipe #21: Bison Sausage Bread

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: The perfect breakfast bread . . . Hell, with eggs, black coffee and sausage, the perfect breakfast!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Patti permalink
    January 20, 2011 11:56 am

    Mouth is watering already….Hurry Saturday!

Leave a Reply

