Skip to content

Eating her curds and Way Awesome Guacamole

January 16, 2011

As I was making my grocery list today I yelled out to the kids, “What should we have for dinner tonight?” One of them yelled out,”Nachos!” I think it was Melanie, but I’m not sure. The others chirped in with their support for nachos quite quickly. Nachos is popular dish around here and not just for the obvious reason. We have raised a household of picky eaters and nachos, in addition to being completely unhealthy, provides the opportunity to eat only the toppings you like. I’d be lying if I said that it wasn’t an easy sell because this gave me chance to make Mike’s Awesome Nachos. If I am going to have nachos for a meal then it needs to have as much stuff as possible piled on it. Here are the ingredients for tonight’s Mike’s Awesome Nachos:

  • Your favorite brand of tortilla chips, I am partial to Tostitos rounds but the chips are really just a vehicle
  • Grated Colby Jack Cheese (or Pepper Jack if you like it spicy)
  • Spicy Black Beans (see recipe in Damn Good Food, p. 66)
  • Hamburger meat, browned with a little garlic, cumin, salt and onion powder
  • Sandra’s Guacamole (see recipe)
  • Shredded lettuce
  • Diced Tomatoes
  • Sliced Black Olives
  • Your favorite Salsa
  • Sour Cream

The trick is to layer the ingredients. Chips , then cheese, then meat and beans, then more chips, more cheese – you get the idea.

As is tradition when we eat nachos for dinner we watch a movie. I’m not really sure why they keep letting me pick the movie, but they do. I chose to introduce my kids to a piece of my childhood known as Time Bandits. I think the subtle nuances of this classic scifi comedy may have eluded them.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Annie Omer permalink
    January 26, 2011 10:39 pm

    I am Mitch Omer’s mother and have a better horseradish sauce recipe if you are interested
    I cup sour cream
    2 large tablespoons prepared horseradish drained (not the creamy type
    1/2 teaspoon Jane’s seasoned salt
    2 tablespoons lemon juice
    1/4 teaspoon white pepper

    Mix well and refrigerate. Doesn’t have to ‘cure’, unlike the mustard. (In case the mustard sauce is too thick, thin out with small amount hot water. Better cured because it ferments)

    • January 26, 2011 11:21 pm

      Thank You for sharing this. This is an amazing surprise for me and I will definitely make your horseradish recipe. And thank you for the tip on the mustard as well.

Leave a Reply

