Skip to content

Blogging 101

January 11, 2011

When I had the crazy idea to start this little project I didn’t appreciate the blogging aspect as much I as I should have. I figured I would just describe the food and talk about my mishaps and successes  in the kitchen along the way. Then I somehow got it in my brain that I needed to write a blog entry every day. I have been successful for three weeks now, but trying to decide what to write about tonight has made me realize that 344 more entries is a lot of space to fill. This week is a little slow on the cooking, particularly given the 7 recipes I made over the weekend. Looking ahead I just realized I will be making sausage twice this week, which was completely unintended. I still need the fatback for the Hot Italian sausage and I’m going to need Bison meat for the other sausage. The up side is that during my search for pork fatback I found two places where I can buy ground Bison in the Twin Cities. Looking even further ahead I should have plenty to write about in a couple weeks. We are having a family brunch where I will be making the infamous Lemon-Ricotta Hotcakes.

For today it looks like I still have space to fill so I am going to once again resort to the top 10 list.

Top 10 Best Recipes I know how to make

10. Betty Crocker Meatloaf

9. Chicken Parmesan

8. Cuban Sandwhich

7. Sandra’s Guacamole

6. Sally’s Famous Meatballs

5. White Chicken Chili

4. Penne with Sausage & Peppers in Cream Sauce

3. Killer Chile Rellenos

2. Mardi Gras Beignets

1. Shan’s Butter Chicken

I chose this list because it may be interesting to see what has changed at the end of the year. I disqualified the Crab Cakes and the Heuvos Rancheros, but they would probably replace the Cuban and the meatloaf.

 

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: Mitch Omer is insane, and I mean that in the best – but the most literal – way.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 9:34 am

    Good luck with both your challenges. The White Chicken Chili sounds goods. Using dried beans, you don’t get the BPA from the lining of the cans. 🙂

    • January 16, 2011 10:16 am

      Until now I lived in blissful ignorance of BPA, but I guess it makes sense that non-processed food is always going to be better for you than the processed variety.

  2. Patti permalink
    January 12, 2011 12:22 pm

    I too enjoy your thoughts…you write well, you’re witty, and most of the time you make me hungry. Counting days till the hotcakes!

  3. Kira permalink
    January 12, 2011 6:54 am

    I like reading what’s going through your brain every day.

Leave a Reply

