Skip to content

Huevos of Rancheros

January 1, 2011

After a relaxing New Year’s Day I finally made the meal I have been planning/working on for more than a week. I’m only 7 recipes into this project and I am in danger of overusing the word delicious. Nevertheless, they were delicious. All of the flavors from the salsa, black beans and creamy eggs mixed together to be just the right amount of spicy. There isn’t too much to tell about the cooking. I forgot a step when I was preparing the tortillas, but believe it would not have made a difference in flavor. Kira wants me to make them again as soon as possible so maybe we can split one tomorrow for lunch and I can make the recipe the “correct” way.

I am going to have to disagree with this recipe on how long it says it takes a tortilla to fry. The book says to cook for about 5-minutes before flipping and cook another 2-3 minutes. I’ve fried tortillas before and I knew that if I cooked them that long I would have charred black frisbees. I cooked them for about 30 seconds and then flipped and cooked for another 20. I did learn one trick which seems pretty obvious in hindsight; cut slits in the tortillas to prevent air bubbles. Another quibble I have is that the book says to put the plates under the broiler for 3-5 minutes until the cheese is melted. The cheese melted in a bout 30 seconds and it cooked the tortillas a little bit more. It all ended well and we had three beautiful servings of huevos. I knew this might be a bit much for Sarah so I made her a fried tortilla with eggs and cheese on top. And for Max, another cheese hater in the family, I made some extra eggs and served those. I was pleased that everybody ate at least some part of the meal.

For posterity I am forced to record a small anecdote about the cooking oil. I had three burners full on the stove and I wanted a fresh pan to cook the hash browns in. I had just finished frying the tortillas in about a half an inch of Canola oil and realized I didn’t need that pan any longer. Now, I realize that I come across as a very experienced chef having done all this fancy cooking and even having my own recipes, but keep in mind I have only been cooking things that did not come in a box for about two or three years. Also I like to think of my self as being halfway intelligent, I solve problems for a living in the IT industry and I’m not half bad at it.  What I did next made perfect sense in my brain until about a millisecond after I did it. I needed a pan, I was done with the pan that had hot oil in it, I do not need the hot oil any longer, I will rinse the hot oil out so I can use the pan.

Have you ever seen the youtube video of exploding Mentos and diet coke? It was kind of like that only with hot oil. Thankfully there wasn’t more oil than there was and that I have moderately quick reflexes. Nobody was hurt(unless you count my pride), but the mess was phenomenal. I believe this would be, as the kids say, an epic fail.

Lastly,  I had iced coffee with this meal and I highly recommended the combination.

Recipe #7 : Huevos Rancheros

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: [Huevos Rancheros are] not difficult to make but require a lot of ingredients and some prep.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 2:24 am

    Hot oil doesn’t play nicely with cold(er) water, and certainly, you don’t need ½”of oil in a pan … a few teaspoons, and yes, you’re right, 8 or so minutes is ridiculous to cook tortillas … seconds, as you say. Warm until they start to puff, then flip and warm the other side. Done. I love Huevos Rancheros. Great brunch recipe.

Leave a Reply

