Skip to content

Why Did I Make Salsa Con Misho?

December 27, 2010

Same reason I made the black beans – I need it for the Huevos Rancheros that I am going to make next year.

This was another no cooking recipe, but I spent over an hour chopping things into little pieces so that has to count for something. There are a lot of recipes in Damn Good Food that I can’t wait to make because they look delicious. This wasn’t one of them. This salsa called for pineapple and a good helping of cilantro which I wasn’t too sure about. I love pineapple, but I have never been a fan of fruit in my salsa. [My inner smart alec is telling me that tomato is a fruit, but I chose to ignore him.] And I am on the record as being a cilantro hater.

Which is why you always have to keep an open mind and try new things. This salsa is amazing. I put a little bowl out for me, Kira, and Melanie to try and it was gone in a few chip crunching, lip smacking minutes. I was surprised by how much Kira enjoyed the salsa because it is quite spicy. The pineapple cuts the spice a little, but my mouth was buzzing for a while even after washing it down with a beer. I have about six cups of the salsa and I only need one cup for the Heuvos. I put aside a cup and the rest will get put out with a bag of chips on New Year’s Eve – assuming there is any left by then.

Recipe #3: Salsa con Misho

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

