Skip to content

Maybe I should have gone with Jam

January 12, 2014

I think what entices me about projects like my alphabet diet/cooking thing is that I enjoy learning new things. This week I learned that you are not supposed to put jicama in the refrigerator. Jicama needs to be kept in a dry place and the fridge does not qualify and my supply of jicama went bad. Which is why I had to make an extra trip to the grocery store after getting home from work on Thursday. I needed more jicama so I could make the lovely crab salad you see below. jic3 I mostly used a recipe I found over at Food52 for Crab Salad with radishes and Jicama, and Jalapeno, but I cut the recipe in half and used baked corn tortilla chips rather than the fried tortillas they recommended. I used Parmesan cheese instead of Cotija, because I didn’t feel like searching stores for weird ingredients this week. If I had it to do over I probably would have used feta instead. The salad was interesting and I liked the chips because they gave it some crunch, but it wasn’t nearly as tasty as it looks. It was a good thing that I halved the recipe because we still had some left over. The salad could be a meal by itself, but I knew this would leave the pickier eaters hungry so I put some cheese, meat and crackers on the table which got gobbled up quickly. It made for a great summer dish to celebrate our January thaw.

jic4

We had pizza on Friday and Saturday dinner was being cooked by someone else. I needed a side dish for the dinner on Saturday, but I wasn’t sure I wanted to make another jicama salad. Then I came into possession of some fresh dill. Kira’s mother, Janet, had left us the dill before she went out of town. I knew that she had looked at several different stores to find the dill and I can sympathize with such an ingredient search and I didn’t want it to go to waste. Dill and jicama seemed like they would go well together and a quick search brought me to this mock potato salad recipe for Jicama Dill Salad. The dressing is made from puréed cashews, mustard, garlic, and dill. I replaced the water with white wine and cut back on the vinegar a little to compensate. I was glad that I made this last salad because I thought it was the best one of the week.

I enjoyed the jicama this week, but I have to confess that the dieting is getting a little old. I had a couple of beers this week and a few more snacks than I’ve allowed before. Not a lot extra, but enough that I thought I might not make my goal for the week. I managed to get within a tenth of a pound so I am just going to call it good enough.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 386 other followers

