Skip to content

Off My Zzz’s

March 11, 2012
tags: ,

I have gone to bed early and not drinking caffeine for over a week now and I am not sure I’m going to make it for a whole month. The no naps is annoying and the caffeine turned out to be less of a big deal than I thought, but not staying up late is like cutting off part of my life. The comparison that keeps rolling around in my brain is that I want to go back off my meds. To be clear I am not on any behavior altering drugs, but from my vast experience with television dramas I am led to believe that people who are taking drugs for manic depression or other such things like to complain that it dulls there thinking. To be even clearer I don’t want to make light of anyone’s real problems, but it was the best analogy I could come up with. I feel like my thinking and creativity have been dulled this week. I’ve written less in March than I have in a long time. i believe this is because my creative side just doesn’t wake up until 9pm and it really starts going around 11:30 or midnight. In addition I am losing hours of awake time to get stuff done. I am getting up a little earlier than I would have before, but it doesn’t cover the awake deficit.

It hasn’t been all bad. I do feel more rested when I get up in the morning and getting up before the alarm goes off is pretty easy. I notice that I usually wake up the first time around 4am (5 hours is my normal amount of sleep) and then I roll over and sleep for two and half more hours. It’s quite nice. I’m just nor sure it is worth the trade off. I have several writing projects for SQL Server that I need to finish during March and I may have to forget about this No Napping stuff so I can work on those. I’m going to try to work on writing earlier in the evening this week , but if it I can’t get stuff done I’ll have to change things up.

On a possibly related note I had what I would call my worst kitchen disaster in a long time. It could be worse than any thing  I did during the entire Mike/Mitch project, but I am too close to it to be a good judge. I attempted to recreate a modified version of Salmon Elise on Friday night and I boiled away the wine sauce. And when I say boiled away I mean no liquid left and crystallized sugars on the bottom of the pan filling the kitchen with smoke. I was fuming right along with the sauce pan when I realized what I had done. To make maters worse I pulled the pan off and I heard a crack. when I looked down it looked as if the non stick lining of the pan had split down the middle. It was only after the meal (which was really only ruined by my being upset, the salmon was pretty good without the sauce) that Kira pointed out it was the layer of black burnt stuff in the pan that had cracked and the pan itself was fine. I’m going to blame the extra sleep. I was too relaxed and didn’t set a timer, which I always do because I know I will forget things on the stove.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2012 6:24 pm

    on the other hand (silliness aside), if writing late at night works for you, maybe your napping/staying up late routine isn’t so bad…. and yes, that’s a tiny little devil on my shoulder.

  2. Janet Koplos permalink
    March 11, 2012 10:25 pm

    I second Laurie’s motion. If you wake at 4, think of the writing you need to do, get up and work on it while you’re fresh.

  3. March 11, 2012 5:24 pm

    how about getting up earlier and writing in the wee hours? when you wake up at 4 or 5, get up then. i do most of my writing before breakfast.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 380 other followers

