Skip to content

To Think I Did All That

December 31, 2011

Here we are. The last post of the Mike/Mitch project. I know I will blog again in the new year because instead of thinking of something to write about for this post I have been thinking about what I will write next. When I figure it out and have it set up I’ll add a breadcrumb here for people who want to find me. As for tonight’s post it took me a while to decide what it should be about, but the answer was obvious once it came to me. This is a post about gratitude. I was hoping to make it humorous too, but my funny bone isn’t working tonight. You’ll have to settle for serious with maybe a side of witty. There are a million people to thank and I’m sure to leave someone out, but that is a poor excuse for not trying.

First I am going to thank myself. Not the guy sitting here typing, but the Mike from December of 2010 who thought it would be fun and tasty to cook all of these recipes and, hey, for a lark maybe he’ll blog about it too. I’m sure I’ve had better years, but none of them more documented and none of them with more butter. It was a great decision 2010 Mike. I owe you one.

Next I want to thank anyone who has been read the blog. As with any content in the entertainment realm you have a choice where you are going to spend your time and if you spent it here I am humbled. I don’t kid myself that there are a lot of you, but the stats say about 50 people a day stop by and that has got to be at least two people who I don’t know personally.

Of those readers there are some I want to thank personally. I have three blogging buddies who have been here since the beginning and I’ve come to know over the past year as well as any real people. Seashell, The Hook, and Aloha. Thank you for reading, letting me know you were out there, and for sharing a slice your of life with me. I count myself lucky to call you friends.

The blog stats also tell me I have written over 370 posts and while I did have content on the blog every day it wasn’t always me that wrote it. It amazes me that I was able to convince more than a dozen people to write a blog post for me. I got to cook and spend time with most of them and as I have said before this was really the best thing that came out of the whole project. Thank you to all of my guest bloggers: Janet, Mary Jo, Laurie, David, Chris, Unka Tim, Rob, Tracey, Ed, my big sis Laura, Brian, Dad, Kira, Melanie, Sarah, and Amy.

I want to thank my kids, Max, Sarah and Melanie, for putting up with a strange menu for the last year and for sharing me with the blog. I’ve lost track of how many times I answered the question, “What are you going to do now, Daddy?” with a simple, “I have to write my Blog.” All of the kids, Max included, helped with cooking at some point and Sarah and Melanie helped with the blogging. I had some very proud papa moments getting to show off what bright young women my girls are becoming. Melanie took over the blog for an entire week and Sarah’s story post got more comments than nearly all of mine.

A big thank you to Mitch Omer and Cynthia Gerdes. Mitch’s cookbook and damn good food inspired this project, but they took it well beyond that. Mitch and Cynthia are two of the most generous people I know. They gave me more ingredients than I can list and having them at the Final Party was awesome. They have built an amazing restaurant. Hell’s Kitchen has damn good food, but they also have a family of damn good employees who enjoy working there.

The last thank you goes to my wife Kira. I could not have done this without her and not once did I hear her say I should stop or discourage me from a project that really has no purpose (other than living life, but I already talked about that.) I control the content of the blog so I get to define the image of myself. I like the image I’ve portrayed of a caring father and husband who is geeky and hopefully funny, but as with most people that isn’t the whole story. I can be moody and selfish just like anyone else, but I don’t show that side here. A project like this is a little selfish at the core, but not once did anyone make me feel that way, especially not Kira. I sit down every night to talk about me and my thoughts about things that I did. Kira let me have this year to have fun with cooking and blogging. She also washed a ton of dishes because she made the mistake of letting me know that if I cooked she would clean up. I was enough of a schmuck to let her do that about 99% of the time. She became the photographer of the Mike/Mitch project early on because a)I found it hard to plate food and take pictures at the same time and b)her pictures were better. Thank You Kira, you are the butter to my bread and the breath to my life. I love you darling girl.

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: It’s only food. But in the case of Hell’s Kitchen, it’s not only food, and that’s the point. It’s recipes from 1950-s era Des Moines. It’s a mother’s whimsy and a father’s weekend breakfasts and the comfort of your favorite aunt. It’s the color of rock and roll, the smell of autumn afternoon in the woods, the taste of romance. It’s family. It’s love. It’s life.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2012 3:28 pm

    You’re more than welcome for the blogging friendship. You’ve enriched my life in so many ways and I’m grateful.

  2. Patti permalink
    January 4, 2012 7:18 pm

    I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again…I’m happy you’re part of my family. I’ve enjoyed not only your blog, but several of your damn good meals. thank you for inviting us, thank you for my delicious birthday cake, thank you for putting up with the Family, and just in case you’ve forgotten, I’m still available for adoption!

  3. January 3, 2012 7:59 am

    This was just so nice. :) It really makes me appreciate how much work and effort it took to do this. I wish I had started reading your blog from the beginning! So make sure I know how to find your next one so that I can get started right away! I don’t want to miss anything. Your community of friends and family seem so supportive, and so wonderful!

  4. Janet Koplos permalink
    January 2, 2012 8:55 am

    Waiting for the next serving…

  5. January 1, 2012 7:51 am

    Bravo, Mike! A wonderful and sweet finale to your highly entertaining blog. Sweet, yes, though .. oddly salty, too. Or maybe that’s snow.

  6. December 31, 2011 8:22 pm

    It’s been a wonderful year getting to know you Mike. Congrats for making it through a whole year of daily blogging! I’m looking forward to your next adventure. Happy New Year!

  7. December 31, 2011 7:52 pm

    Great job Mike.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 386 other followers

