Skip to content

It’s Not Easy Eating Green

November 17, 2011

My clever Vegetarian dodge tonight was pasta with marinara sauce. I should get some credit for using a tri-color rotini with spinach and tomatoes in the noodles. The kids made enough faces at the weird noodles that they should count as a vegetable. I couldn’t just serve noodles with sauce so while the noodles were cooking I buttered some bread, sprinkled it with garlic salt and threw it in the oven for five minutes. Yum. A good meal with no meat.

My real vegetarian challenge for the day came at lunch time. My boss took us for a team outing at Crave, which is probably best described as a trendy Applebees. It’s better than that sounds, but I can’t think of how else to put it. If you are curious just click the link. They have a lot of amazing items on their menu, but not many of them are vegetarian. After some careful perusing I was limited to about 3 or 4 choices. I suppose I could have asked for one of the other dishes without meat, but I thought that would be cheating. They have a grilled portabello sandwich that I considered, but it sounded too much like what I am making out of Damn Good Food this weekend. There was a Sesame Ahi Tuna dish that almost made me decide on the spot that seafood isn’t meat, but I stayed strong. In the end I had a personal size Fresh Margherita pizza and one of their signature salads. They were both very tasty. I was going to get a cup of soup instead of the salad, but when I asked the Soup of the Day was Venison Chili. Eating Bambi is probably as far away from eating vegetarian as you can get, so I went with the salad. It had pine nuts and goat cheese in it which I think made it more satisfying than a typical garden salad.

Now I’m off to braise some fennel.

Damn Good Vegetarian Quote of the Day:

I’m not a vegetarian because I love animals; I’m a vegetarian because I hate plants.

- A. Whitney Brown

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet Koplos permalink
    November 18, 2011 11:05 pm

    Isn’t it funny that we have this stereotype of old people being set in their ways and unadventurous and young people being willing to try anything–but that’s certainly not true of kids when it comes to food. If they fussed at colored noodles you should have blindfolded them and they’d never have known the difference!

    • November 19, 2011 11:45 am

      They all ate it, it was just different. And in their defense you are wrong the noodles tasted slightly different. With enough sauce you couldn’t tell, but I tried a green one before I put sauce on it and it definitely had a spinachy taste.

  2. November 18, 2011 9:00 pm

    i could have pizza margarita every day of my life, i think.

  3. November 18, 2011 1:41 pm

    My daughter flirts with the idea of embracing the vegetarian lifestyle, but she’s 13, so we’ll see what happens.
    Great work, as usual.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 380 other followers

