Skip to content

Happy Birthday Mom

November 11, 2011

Today we celebrated my mom’s birthday by going to (where else?) Hell’s Kitchen. My parents are in town for a few days and my mother who was born on November 12th has her birthday on Veteran’s Day (November 11th) every year. If you find that confusing don’t worry, so does my mom and we like it that way. I’m not really sure when it started, but for as long as I can remember my mom’s birthday has been on November 11th. She keeps trying to insist that this isn’t true, but we sort of out number her so it is hard for her to prove her case. My kids (her grandchildren) embrace the ruse wholeheartedly and to be honest I am not even sure they know when her real birthday is. I know that I never did growing up.

As always I had a hard time deciding what to order for dinner tonight because a)everything is good and b)I feel like I have had everything at least once. I am at the point now where I can’t remember which menu items I have had at the restaurant and which ones I have only made at home. I decided to go with the Charred Chicken sandwich because I was pretty sure I had not ordered that before. My mom got the Walleye Fish and Chips after asking our server, “What is Walleye?” It was the right choice because she really enjoyed it and I think I will be sending her back to Texas with the Tartar sauce recipe. We very openly told our server that it was my mom’s birthday and they brought her one of their AMAZING Brownie Bonanza’s with a candle in it. She was very nice and shared some of it with the kids.

We had a great server and I think everyone had a damn good time. The food was delicious and my parents got to see the restaurant that has become such a fixture in my life.

Happy Birthday Mom, hope it was a good one.

Damn Good Dessert Description :

F’in Awesome Brownie Bonanza

Say your prayers and dive into our dense, dreamy brownie topped with ice cream, our homemade peanut butter, whipped cream and chocolate caramel sauce.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2011 2:26 pm

    Happy Birthday. Mom! Your son rocks!

  2. November 12, 2011 8:09 am

    Happy Birthday! Good memorial photo.
    My birthday will come next month. :smile:

  3. November 12, 2011 5:44 am

    Happy Birthday Mike’s Mom!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 380 other followers

