Skip to content

The Stuff Dreams Are Made Of

October 25, 2011

I made this dinner several months ago and have not had a chance to blog about it yet. I’ve mentioned the Charred Tuna a few times because it is one of my favorite recipes, but haven’t had a blog post to link to. Here it is. I’m glad I had the pictures because they tell the story fairly well. Lesson learned here is that I should always jot some notes down after I cook a meal so I can add a little detail when I write it up.

I started cooking with a very clean kitchen because we had a guest coming over to share the meal with us. Along with the Tuna I decided to make some Mushroom Risotto, which isn’t something I had ever made at the time, but seemed like a good pairing. The recipe for the tuna is very basic so I think part of me just wanted to have something to actually cook while I shared a glass of wine with Kira’s cousin, David. David and I have shared more than a couple of great meals out at restaurants and he never seems afraid to try his hand at new recipes. I set up all the ingredients for the risotto before he got there and when David arrived we started on the Tuna recipe right away.

To prepare the tuna we had to put on a spice rub and then refrigerate for 2 hours. This gave us a very leisurely window to make the risotto and time to enjoy the wine.

We chopped up all of the ingredients and then after some brief sauteing we took turns slowly adding liquid to the rice. It was a great pace for cooking because we knew the tuna needed to set for a long time to absorb the spices. There was some good conversation and before we knew it we had some very delicious Mushroom risotto.

We let the rice stay on a very low heat in the oven while we cooked the tuna. Cook in this recipe is kind of a strong word. The tuna is meant to be served slightly raw so we seared each side of the tuna steaks in butter for about 30 seconds. First Spice side down and then flipped to finish cooking.

Then after heating the excess butter until it smoked I drizzled it over the tuna and we sat down to the most amazing piece of fish I have ever tasted. I can only compare it to a steak that melts in your mouth.

Of course it was only after we were done with the meal and everyone’s plate was completely clean that David reminded me he doesn’t really like mushrooms or seafood. I think I was able to change his opinion a little on those items with my Damn Good Food. I’m pretty sure he has cooked the tuna again since that night so he must have liked it a little bit.

Kira and I both agree that it was in the top five meals and we are going to have to try it again sometime just to make sure.

Recipe #149: Charred Tuna with Beurre Noisette

Humphrey Bogart Quote of the Day: I don’t mind a reasonable amount of trouble.  - Sam Spade in the Maltese Falcon

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2013 2:57 pm

    I feel like I’m missing something–where is the tuna recipe itself?

    • May 15, 2013 3:54 pm

      Since I cooked my entire way through the cookbook it didn’t seem fair to the publisher/author to post all of the recipes. A portion of the cookbook is available on Google Books and this one happens to be on a page that is avialable:

  2. November 9, 2011 12:37 am

    Ok, add this one to my list…. I love tuna prepared this way. Not sure about pairing it with the mushroom risotto, but the risotto sounds and looks fantastic! I think of tuna steaks with something asian… maybe vegetable gyoza or soba. And would pair the risotto with a nice roast chicken or maybe rabbit. I could be completely wrong… so I’ll defer to your Damn Good Food selection.

    • November 9, 2011 7:53 am

      It was a slightly odd food pairing, but it worked. The tuna was more like a good steak than fish so a rich side dish went well with it.

  3. October 28, 2011 1:06 pm

    Looks dreamy to me!

  4. October 27, 2011 11:47 am

    I love a good piece of tuna cooked very rare. I could almost be a vegetarian if it weren’t for seafood.

  5. October 26, 2011 9:00 am

    my dad could never bring himself to eat fish as a grown man. he was raised catholic, and they had fish every friday night, and it was always full of bones. his mother would slap the plate on the table and say, “be careful not to choke to death.”

    so after he left missouri and joined the army i am pretty sure he never ate fish again.

    one night, when my mother and father were older–maybe in their 60s–my mother cooked a fish. she set it down in front of my dad and he looked at it for a long time and then he put his fork down and said, “i just can’t.”

    too bad he didnt’ know you. i bet your seared tuna could have changed his mind.

  6. Janet Koplos permalink
    October 26, 2011 8:52 am

    Ah, the guest blog David never wrote!

    • October 26, 2011 11:11 am

      I wasn’t going to out him so directly, but now I guess I don’t have to.

  7. October 26, 2011 8:50 am

    My husband used to make blanket statements like “I don’t like seafood”. But that was back when his experience with seafood included fish sticks and Fish Fry Fridays. :) Once people taste how good seafood can REALLY be, often they change their minds.

    • October 26, 2011 11:13 am

      The tuna steaks are an easy one to convert people because it taste very meaty. If you didn’t tell someone what this meal was Tuna might be low on their guesses.

  8. October 26, 2011 8:42 am

    So yummy and great cooking as always. :cool:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 386 other followers

