Skip to content

Tastes Like Chicken

August 31, 2011

There is an entire chapter in Damn Good Food devoted to Cuisine Savage – or as I like to call it, How To Cook Stuff That You Killed. I’m not a hunter. I have no moral objection to hunting and I definitely eat meat. [Melanie edit: :( ] I am not a hunter in the same way that I don’t ride a motorcycle. With my hand-eye coordination it just seems like there’s too much potential for somebody to get hurt.

This week I started cooking some of the Cuisine Savage. For my first recipe I ended up going with Biscuits with Rabbit Gravy. Mostly because I was able to find rabbit meat locally. Not easily, but I was able to find it. I had hoped to purchase boneless skinless rabbit meat, but I guess rabbits don’t have big enough breasts, so they don’t sell it that way. I bought an entire rabbit and spent a good portion of my Saturday night carving him up. I considered just putting a link to the pictures and not actually showing them here, but in the end I decided that if I had to deal with it then so did you. It really is nothing different from all the items you pass by in your grocery store all the time.

I watched some videos to figure out which pieces to cut it into and how to carve off meat from the bones. I am making two recipes with rabbit and for one I need boneless tenderloins and for the biscuits with gravy I just need “pieces.” It’s a good thing I only needed pieces. You know how when something gets botched up like a hair cut or a home improvement job you will sometimes say, “Wow, they really butchered it?” I now know where that expression comes from. The second rabbit recipe calls for grilling and I think the pieces I ended up with will not fall through the slats. Maybe.

I had plenty of “pieces” for the gravy recipe so I went for the easy one first. The recipe starts off with sautéing the rabbit, which I have to say looks an awful lot like chicken meat. The liquid you see there is mostly butter and flour. I later added some chicken stock, cream, salt and pepper. That is the recipe for the gravy. Heat and Whisk as needed.

What you don’t know is that I have actually buried the lead on this blog post. For all of my talk about rabbits the real recipe was the biscuits. Kira has probably made biscuits from scratch before, but I never have. This recipe is towards the end of the book and I think Mitch assumes people know how to make biscuits because there were a lot of “when the dough looks like this”-type instructions. Or maybe it is just really hard to screw them up because mine turned out pretty well. The one direction I had trouble with was when I read “Dip a 3-inch biscuit cutter into flour, and press into dough.” I don’t have one of those. The closest thing I found in our Kitchen was this:

Which is actually quite fitting if you remember that Mickey started out as Oswald the Rabbit. I cut out all the biscuits and cooked them up ahead of time. I have to admit they were a little dry, but they tasted very buttery and worked great to soak up the gravy.

Unfortunately, even with the Mickey Biscuits, Kira and I both agreed that this was probably the first Damn Good Meal we’ve had that really didn’t wow us. It was fine and the gravy was creamy, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to make it. I think I may have trimmed too much fat off of the rabbit meat which means I lost a lot of flavor. Or maybe I butchered the recipe somehow and when Mitch makes this gravy it is !@#$ing amazing. I’ll have to try it next time I am at Hell’s Kitchen (Biscuits and gravy is on the menu, but I don’t think they use rabbit.)

Making the biscuits was fun and I tried one with some jam on it and really enjoyed it. I might try making this again with sausage. Bought from a store. Prepackaged.

Recipe #128: Biscuits

Recipe#129:Biscuits with Rabbit Gravy

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: Rabbit is purported by many fans to taste like chicken. But that’s inaccurate, Mitch says. It is a light, white meat, but it has a hint of gamey flavor – just a little dark wildness – in the flavor palate below.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2011 12:32 pm

    I just can’t wrap my head around eating Thumper.

  2. September 2, 2011 1:55 pm

    Chicken rocks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 380 other followers

