Skip to content

Maybe With Some Pico de Gallo

August 7, 2011

Tonight, we had nachos for dinner. No, not the ones with fake cheese that you can buy at over-priced concessions stand at the movies. The kind you make at home, with Tostito’s bite-size chips covered in cheese, topped with sour cream, guacamole, and tomatoes. A good way to switch it up is, of course, the addition of cilantro-y pico de gallo.
Weeks ago, when first planning recipes for my blogging week, my father and I (or at least I) decided that one thing we absolutely had to make was pico de gallo.

Not because I greatly enjoy fresh tomatoes, onions, and cilantro. Not because it has a cool, foreign name. Not even because of its yummy delightfulness. Pico de gallo was a required recipe because you can eat it with tortilla-wrapped Megagirl units. If this makes absolutely no sense to you, I suggest you go watch Starship, an original sci-fi musical by Team Starkid. If typing in YouTube’s URL and searching for Starship is too much work for you (though I assure you, it is very much worth it), simply direct your attention to this video clip.

“One more comment like that, and I will wrap you up in a tortilla and eat you for a snack… maybe with some pico de gallo!”

This line is only one among thousands of hilarious ones thought up by the team, including, but not limited to, the following*:
“You’d think killing people would make them like you, but it doesn’t, it just makes them dead.” -Joe Walker as Voldemort, A Very Potter Musical
“This school has really gone to the dogs. Luckily next year, I’ll be transferred to Pigfarts!” -Lauren Lopez as Draco Malfoy, AVPM
“I think Bug is about to have a little accident involving his head and my zapper. Hahaha…. Then I’ll shoot him!” -Brian Holden as Junior, Starship

“I have to fight a goat? I don’t know if I can do that morally!” -Darren Criss as Harry Potter, AVPM

The Boss Zefron Poster

“That is a BOSS Zefron poster!” -Joey Richter as Ron AVPM

“I WANT HERMIONE GRANGER…. And a rocket ship.” -Lauren as Draco, AVPM

“I can’t go to Pigfarts. It’s on Mars. You need a rocket ship. Do you have a rocket ship? I bet you do! You know, not all of us inherited enough money to buy out NASA when our parents died.” – Lauren as Draco, AVPM

“If you don’t go out there and die for something, I will kill you for nothing!” -Lauren Lopez as Taz, Starship

Darren Criss: Twisted Abomination

“Damn that G.L.E.E.! They always make twisted abominations of everything!” -Joe Walker as Commander Up, Starship

“The world always looks a little brighter….from on top of a lap.” -Joe Walker as Commander Up, Starship

“‘How does this sound? You’re going to jail!’
‘It sounded forced.'”
-Lauren as Draco and Tyler Brunsman as Lucius, A Very Potter Sequel

“We deserve bubbles on our skin!” -Joe as Up, Starship

“Beautiful? What are you, nuts?!? More like supermegafoxyawesomehot!” -Darren Criss as Harry, AVPM

“Hello, my name is Draco Malfoy. I am a racist, I despise gingers and mudbloods, I hate Gryffindor house, and my parents work for the man who killed your parents, do you want to be my friend?” -Draco, AVPS

“My parents were driving and they crashed. Into a crocodile. My parents died, but then the crocodile took out a knife and gave me this scar. At least, that’s what my liar aunt and uncle told me.” -Darren as Harry, AVPS

“Platform 9 3/4? Why, there ain’t no such thing! You know, you’re the 700th kid to ask me that…” -Brian Rosenthal as Station Guard at King’s Cross

*Damn Good Asterisk of the Day: These aren’t necessarily my favorite Starkid quotes, nor are they in any particular order. They’re simply a small sample of the genius that is Starkidpotter. I also can’t guarantee that these are 100% verbatim, as I don’t have the entire script of every show memorized (yet).

[EDITOR’S NOTE: We used the Pico de Gallo recipe from the popular cooking blog Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide. It turned out beautifully as you can see by clicking here.]

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2011 1:31 pm

    Great prose, not-so-great pics!
    Well done, sir.

  2. August 8, 2011 8:53 am

    Thanks for the laughs. Definitely helps to be a Potter fan to read them. Thanks for the shout out too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 386 other followers

