Skip to content

Crème Brûlée is Musical

August 5, 2011

Last night, we went to Hell’s Kitchen for the second time in a week. We weren’t really there to eat, although we did get some delicious sweet potato fries and some nachos. We were (at least in part) there for the music. My father knows I like music, and Hell’s Kitchen has live music most nights, so when we went this weekend, we looked for a night they’d be having a good band. Most of them were more like hard rock or metal or you had to be of age (Muggle age, not wizarding age) to get in, so we chose a nice jazz band to go listen to. They were certainly enjoyable and talented, but I really wasn’t paying attention for most of it, because while we were there, Mitch was talking to us and giving us ingredients!

I’ll let my dad tell the actual story, because I’m sure I couldn’t do it justice, since meeting Mitch for him is probably close to how meeting the Starkids was for me (maybe we’ll keep the truffles forever, and he’ll have his MitchTruffles, and I’ll have my JimPovoloRedVines.). But yeah. Mitch and Cynthia pretty much gave us 20000000000 pounds of food with which to make all sorts of goodies.

One of the things we received from the wonderful people at HK was a half-gallon of heavy cream. As in, reeeeeaaaaally heavy. I don’t consider myself a cream expert, but I’m pretty sure this stuff is some of the best. Well, we’re leaving on vacation next week (YAY!), so we were left with a dilemma. Whatever would we do with all this cream?

A few weeks ago, we bought some ramekins (a.k.a. little bowls with a fancy name) at the store. I’m not sure what purpose they were meant to serve, but as soon as I saw them, I thought of crème brûlée. I told this to The One Who Cooks, and he said that if I could figure out a way to make crème brûlée without a fancy little blowtorch, then we could do it during my blog week. It turns out an oven broiler works just as well to caramelize the sugar, so I would get to make crème brûlée! We originally planned on making it this weekend, or even next Monday or Tuesday, but that was before The Cream.

In case you didn’t know, crème brûlée is also known as “burnt cream.” Cream dilemma solved! Earlier this evening, we mixed up some cream, vanilla beans, milk, and eggs into a frothy substance that tasted like joy. Then, we put it in the oven to bake into a custard. [Insert picture that I’m too lazy to upload here].

Inserted by The One Who Cooks

Tonight it will set in the fridge, and tomorrow we’ll put some sugar on top and caramelize it, which sounds mouthwateringly delicious.

I’ve never had crème brûlée before, but I’ve wanted to ever since seeing the movie High School Musical. During the song  about sticking to the Status Quo, Zeke confesses his love for baking. Afterwards, his friends are talking to him, and he explains what, exactly, a crème brûlée is. He makes it sound so very scrumptious, and at the same time proves that tacky musicals about high school can teach you things! That movie is where I first heard of crème brûlée, and learned of it’s supposed deliciousness.

So, tomorrow, 5 years after seeing HSM, I will finally get to taste this dream dessert. I only hope it will live up to the hype, though considering the amount and variety of cream we used, it shouldn’t have any trouble.

That’s all for now, folks. To follow yesterday’s conclusion style: Hell’s Kitchen is jazzily musical. Crème brûlée is from a musical. High School is a Musical. Mitch is super generous. Pottermore is still exciting. And blogging is tiring.

Damn Good High School Musical Quote of the Day: Oh, it’s a creamy custard with a caramelized surface. It’s really satisfying.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2011 4:27 pm

    It’s one of my favorite desserts…so yummy.

  2. August 5, 2011 12:19 pm

    Blogging is tiring, but I never tire of your posts!

  3. Dad permalink
    August 5, 2011 9:52 am

    I’m thoroughly impressed also. I look forward to more.

    • August 5, 2011 11:06 am

      Have you been able to get Mom to read any of them? Perhaps if you print them out for her?

  4. Patti permalink
    August 5, 2011 7:21 am

    Dang Mel, blogging is your thing…you’re doing quite well…The One Who Cooks has competition from The One Who Loves Green!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 386 other followers

