Skip to content

Ice Creamed Very Loudly

July 29, 2011

Today is Melanie’s Birthday (Happy Birthday, Mel) and I have planned for some time now to make the Ice Cream Puffs for her Birthday. Melanie has an only slightly exaggerated reputation for her ice cream consumption and I have a sentimental weakness for my children and I spoil them. She gets a lot of ice cream. I think Sarah and Max like ice cream just as much as Melanie, but she is less shy about asking for it every chance she gets.She doesn’t care for cake with two inches of icing so here is what I made for Melanie’s Birthday “Cake”  this year.

Beautiful , neh? And allow me to say that homemade Ice Cream Puffs are delicious, but so is a bowl of Breyers French Vanilla Ice Cream.

Time and effort to fix a bowl of Breyers Ice Cream. One trip to the grocery store and 2 minutes to scoop into a dish.

Time and effort to prepare Damn Good Ice Cream Puffs. Two days and two failed batches of cream puffs. Or as I have come to call them cream unpuffs. Apparently there is a trick to keeping cream puffs from falling after you bake them. Making the dough the first time was actually kinda neat. The butter and flour formed a ball in the pan just as I expected and I added eggs until it was creamy, but stiff enough to keep some shape when I piped it out of the bag.

I baked it for about 20 minutes and they were gorgeous. Fluffy and huge.

Then I lowered the oven temperature and let them dry out. They next time I opened the oven they had fallen into flat ugly unpuffs.

I figured they wouldn’t be very big and fluffy, but this is what I had to work with. Following the next step in the recipe I put them in the freezer. Today when I tried to cut them in half they were so dense and unpuffy that I couldn’t cut through it without crushing it.Ugg.

These just weren’t going to work. Time to try again. Make the batter. Pipe onto baking sheet. Gorgeous Cream Puffs. Lower Temperature. Ugly Unpuffs. AARRGH!

Time to improvise. I cut out the dense part of eight of the puffs, scooped in some French Vanilla Ice Cream, glopped on some fudge sauce, added a spoonful of whipped cream and some sprinkles for a little color. It’s the most frustrated I’ve been in some time while making one of the recipes. Even making the pancakes without a spatula on the camping trip didn’t infuriate me so much. I think because I don’t know what I could have done differently. It did all work out in the end and we had a delicious dessert. And I’m pretty sure Melanie had a good Birthday.

Recipe #114: Ice Cream (un)Puffs

Recipe #115: Fudge Sauce

Recipe #116: Whipped Cream

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: The ice cream puffs were almost as big as my head and remain today once of my favorite foods ever.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2011 2:18 pm

    Your birthday treat sounds delicious! Have fun.

  2. July 29, 2011 1:46 pm

    “overly elaborate”, I don’t understand what you mean? Now you’ll excuse me while I grind some spices to make homemade curry powder

  3. July 29, 2011 1:44 pm

    i’ve made cream puffs before but never did that drying-out step. never heard of it before. maybe your recipe is overly elaborate.

    but those look sooooo good. and thanks for the tip on Dar’s. I’d never heard of it before. but it looks like a simple bicycle ride away from our ‘hood.

    • July 29, 2011 9:29 pm

      Dar’s is great. The owner is very involved in the Rice Street Community. You can’t beat the prices and the portions are generous.

      • July 29, 2011 9:31 pm

        i’ve already told doug that we must find that place this weekend. and i’ve also already embarrassed your daughter by wishing her a hearty happy birthday while she was mowing your lawn.

      • July 29, 2011 9:46 pm

        Excellent on both counts.

  4. Patti permalink
    July 29, 2011 6:44 am

    Hey Chef…my birthday is coming up!?!? Yummmmmmmmmmmm!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 386 other followers

