Skip to content

Grill Sergeant

June 27, 2011

I don’t know but I been told,

Brats on the grill are as good as gold!

Actually, I do know. A good beer brat is probably worth more than gold when it’s a summer evening in Minnesota. Before moving to Minnesota I’m not certain I had ever eaten a bratwurst. When we moved here I soon realized that this was a delicacy I needed to perfect. Grilling brats isn’t the same as throwing a hot dog on the grill and waiting for it to get warm. A brat takes patience, a keen eye, sausage balancing skills, and a spray bottle. It’s a fine line between raw bratwurst and charred tubular meat. I’ve done lots of things over the years to achieve the perfect brat. In the end I did what every good renegade chef would do, I cheated. When I make brats  these days I almost always boil them ahead of time in some beer and onions. Then I take them out to the grill and make them look beautiful. Works every time.

Tonight I served them up with some homemade French Fries and some of Mitch’s Damn Good Coleslaw. Delicious.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2011 8:47 pm

    Some good, old fashion Cajun andouille on the grill is more my taste, but then again, I’ve never boiled my brats in beer and onions first….

  2. June 28, 2011 4:57 pm

    Thank God for summer and BBQ, right?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 386 other followers

