Skip to content

Grill of my Dreams

June 24, 2011

When the Mike/Mitch Project began it was cold outside and there was snow on the ground. A lot of snow. Maybe you remember.

As I read through the recipes in Damn Good Food I realized that many of them would have to wait until the summer because they required the use of a grill. I have been waiting to try the Charred Chicken Breast Sandwiches for about six months. Not because it looked delicious and I was yearning for a time when it would be warm enough to grill something. Those both may be true, but I wanted to make this recipe because it looked easy. When I was putting together a cooking calendar back in January I had just finished making Heuvos Rancheros and I wanted something that didn’t see too complicated. For a HK recipe this one is easy. You grill some chicken breasts and put ‘em on a bun. Done and done.

OK, you have to make your own Chipotle Mayonaise and because you can’t actually buy boneless chicken breasts with skin-on you have to debone the breasts, but on a scale of 1 to Reubens, this recipe is a 2 – maybe a 3.  Making my own mayo is a snap these days and the only extra ingredient to turn it into Chipotle Mayonnaise is Honey-Chipotle Barbecue Sauce, which I had in my freezer from making (…pause to indicate ironic twist…) Heuvos Rancheros. The skin on direction was a bit of a curve that my frozen brain didn’t really consider back in the heart of winter. I can’t complain too much because I am not really sure you can call what I did deboning. I just grabbed a knife and cut off the biggest peices of meat that I could. It seemed to work and I ended up with three good pieces of meat and about a half a pound of extra chunks. I threw the chunks on a skewer and cooked them up with the breasts. Max wasn’t interested in a chicken sandwich, but once he tasted one of the small pieces of chicken he ate the whole skewers worth.

It was worth waiting for grilling season because the sandwiches were delicious. I served them with some snap peas I bought at the 7th Place Farmers Market in Saint Paul and a handful of pretzels.

Recipe #99: Charred Chicken Breast Sandwich

Recipe #8b: Chipotle Mayonnaise

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: …leave the skin on. I mean it. If you remove the skin, I won’t let you make this sandwich. Go home. – Mitch Omer

 

36 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2011 3:57 pm

    tasty food

  2. Subaili Sekri permalink
    June 28, 2011 12:05 am

    suddenly feel hungry…

  3. June 27, 2011 8:48 am

    I had to look twice to process that this was snow! And your food looks delicious :)

  4. June 25, 2011 10:25 pm

    That pic of the snow against the door is unbelievable. I’ve only seen it a hand full of times and never enough to pile up against a door like that. I can see why houses over there are well insulated. As for the food, it all loks very nice and frankly has made me rather peckish!

  5. June 25, 2011 4:39 pm

    Now the only problem with being here in AZ is that we can’t grill in the summer. It’s going to be 114 outside on Monday ;(

    • June 25, 2011 10:11 pm

      With 114 degrees you can just grill on the sidewalk.

      • July 1, 2011 1:18 am

        1) I’ve tried, it doesn’t work too well. Besides, then you hesitate to eat it, anyway, cuz it was grilled on your driveway and all.
        2) That’s a heckuva lotta snow, yeesh.
        3) It’s been such a long time!! I missed reading about your insane cooking exploits.
        4) YOU GOT FREAKING FRESHLY PRESSED!!!!!!!!

        Wow. I missed too much. You’ll have to catch me up on recent events :)

      • July 1, 2011 7:26 am

        4) I know, right. It was quite the wild ride. I think I checked my stats every 5 minutes.

  6. June 25, 2011 3:58 pm

    Grill of your dreams… The title made me ROFL, but the rest made me hungry :). Now I have a dream… :).

    • June 25, 2011 10:12 pm

      Thanks. I’ve been spouting off grill puns all week – not sure if my wife is amused or just thinks I’m crazy.

      • Patti permalink
        June 26, 2011 6:24 am

        May I venture to say probably both? But your loveability level evens it all out!

  7. June 25, 2011 6:39 am

    Oh no now I have to go to eat something yummeee.

  8. June 25, 2011 12:47 am

    That’s really a lot of snow at the door…

  9. June 24, 2011 9:43 pm

    I had a delicious grilled chicken sandwich at the beach last week and thought, “I need to start making this at home.” Love the Chipotle Mayo for some kick!

  10. June 24, 2011 5:48 pm

    Wow – that is a ton of snow – I love the little impressions the door left in the snow! Congrats on Freshly Pressed – that is awesome!

  11. Kristin permalink
    June 24, 2011 5:48 pm

    1. That chicken looks DELICIOUS! Yum!
    2. Congrats on being on “Freshly Pressed”!!!!!

  12. June 24, 2011 4:37 pm

    that’s a lot of snow! the chicken sandwich looks delicious!

  13. anonnickus permalink
    June 24, 2011 4:32 pm

    Had you done this in January the snow would have smelled divine.People would have eaten the snow to get to your door. Beautifully presented. Good work.

  14. June 24, 2011 2:45 pm

    Where do you live??? That is some serious snow….and I grew up in Toronto, which gets plenty of it.

    • June 24, 2011 2:47 pm

      It was a very snowy winter in Saint Paul, MN this year. To be fair that is a snow drift against my garage wall, but it makes the point.

  15. June 24, 2011 12:22 pm

    Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed! The sandwich looks awesome.

    • June 24, 2011 12:27 pm

      Thanks. It’s fun seeing all of the activity. Of course now I have to write something interesting tonight.

  16. June 24, 2011 11:58 am

    yummy meal! :)
    holy doodles! the first shot — totally crazy…

    • June 24, 2011 12:27 pm

      It is the most snow I have seen in my life. I hope not to repeat this winter.

  17. June 24, 2011 11:56 am

    I am definitely showing these pics to my hubby! He takes pictures of his food all the time and will appreciate your artistry. He never does anything simple either, kind of like your skin-on bonless chicken and homemade mayo. :)

    • June 24, 2011 12:39 pm

      Thanks. I did take the picture on the Grill, but my wife usually takes most of the pictures because I am too busy stressing out about the next step in the recipe.

  18. June 24, 2011 11:42 am

    I’ve been known to grill with that much snow on the ground! Glad you finally got to make it – sometimes simple is more delicious! :D

    • June 24, 2011 11:46 am

      I’m not opposed to grilling when it is cold, but unfortunately this year my grill got buried under all that snow.

  19. June 24, 2011 11:39 am

    AWESOME pic! Great title too.

    • June 24, 2011 12:40 pm

      Thanks. I liked this one – Grill is an easy word to pun. Stay Tuned.

  20. June 24, 2011 10:54 am

    Please everybody of us be careful on “black colour” on meat.

  21. June 24, 2011 10:11 am

    That looks awful. All the snow that is. The grilled chicken looks wonderful.

    • June 24, 2011 12:41 pm

      The snow was awful. It’s enough to make me want to move back to California. Land of the endless grilling season.

  22. June 24, 2011 9:59 am

    Bring on summer!! There’s nothing better than grilling something on the BBQ! That is one delicious looking sandwich! :)

  23. June 24, 2011 9:54 am

    Wow — longing for the days of door marks in the snow…yesterday it was 96 in my town. Thanks for the reminder!

    The mayo sounds amazing, btw. I must try…
    :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 380 other followers

