Skip to content

Jamberry

June 1, 2011

This was an unplanned recipe (or at least not planned for this week), but they had these amazing blackberries when I went grocery shopping. I decided I should buy them and make jam because otherwise I might go back in a few weeks only to have the produce guy tell me that seeded berries are already out of season.

One of the ingredients for the jam is sweetened ginger purée and I still had a little left over from the chutney I made a few weeks back. I used up what I had left which was very satisfactory because I hate to see something so tasty go to waste. Making the jam was straightforward I just put all the ingredients into a pot and boiled them. I was much more careful with the pectin this time and it did not clump when I mixed it in. Removing the berries from the heat while I did this made it easier.

There was no liquid at the start of this and I was a little worried about scorching. But before the mixture came to a boil it was about half juice and half pulp. I have to confess that I rushed through things a little and I missed a step. I put all the berries into the pot at the beginning and you are supposed to hold 1/3 of them for adding at the end. Hopefully this will only affect consistency and not taste. I’m trying to get more sleep these days so I poured the mixture into a pasta bowl so that it would cool faster. My hope is that it is cooled off by the time I am done typing and I can seal it up and put it in the fridge.

And because it doesn’t make sense to have jam without peanut butter I went ahead and made a batch of that too.

Recipe #94: Blackberry Jam

Damn Good Quote of the Day: Rumble and ramble In blackberry bramble,

Billions of berries For blackberry jamble.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2011 9:20 am

    It must be great to be a Superman in the kitchen.

  2. June 2, 2011 11:47 am

    ok, i had a sentence all picked out as my favorite (“I’m trying to get more sleep these days so I poured the mixture into a pasta bowl so that it would cool faster. “) until i got to the one about peanut butter.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 380 other followers

