Skip to content

Inefficient Chemical Processes

May 5, 2011
SONY DSC

For my birthday Nourishment this year I chose Special Occasion Goulash  and Cheesecake to help replenish my energy.

In the cookbook Mitch mentions that he always has this Goulash recipe on his Birthday. I figured if it is good enough for him it is good enough for me. The recipe is not too difficult and I got to use the last pound of homemade Italian sausage which I froze back in January. I browned the sausage and added in an amazing amount of chopped onion. There was easily twice as much onion frying in the pan as there was sausage. I have learned to like onion, but I was still a little nervous about enjoying my birthday dinner at this point. Next cam diced tomatoes, ketchup, mustard and salt. I simmered everything for a while and the result was delicious. The mustard and the spicy sausage were the predominant flavors, but they were not over-powering. When I first dished up the goulash I thought I might add some crushed red pepper to spice it up, but the sausage provided enough heat and more was unnecessary. I sprinkled on a little Parmesan, but that was mostly for the picture it didn’t need anything added. I can see myself making this again. Even Melanie liked it, but she had to eat around the sausage. When I make it again it would be pretty easy to make a small vegetarian portion, but I’d probably need to add some extra salt, pepper, garlic, red pepper flakes and a little oil to achieve close to the same flavor.

The cheese tasted as good as it looks here. Kira acquired this for me along with some dark chocolate and raspberries for garnishing.

Recipe #82: Special Occasion Goulash

Damn Good StarShip Quote of the Day: Oh wait, I have mistaken your futility for my utility.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2011 1:45 pm

    Looks great!

  2. May 6, 2011 11:50 am

    Hope you had a great birthday!

    • May 6, 2011 12:30 pm

      Thanks. I did. Of course when you end the day with that cheesecake it is hard to go wrong.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 380 other followers

