Skip to content

The Horseradish Recurrance

February 21, 2011

A few weeks ago something very cool happened here at the Mike/Mitch project.

After I made the Bloody Mary Mix I had a lot of fresh horseradish left over so I planned a dinner of roast beef sandwiches. I used a recipe I found in The Commonsense Kitchen to make creamy horseradish. I wasn’t very pleased with the outcome – it was good, but it didn’t really wow me. It was just tasty – not delicious.

The next day I had an amazing visitor to the blog who left a comment:

From : Annie Omer

I am Mitch Omer’s mother and have a better horseradish sauce recipe if you are interested
I cup sour cream
2 large tablespoons prepared horseradish drained (not the creamy type)
1/2 teaspoon Jane’s seasoned salt
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon white pepper

Mix well and refrigerate. Doesn’t have to ‘cure’, unlike the mustard. (In case the mustard sauce is too thick, thin out with small amount hot water. Better cured because it ferments)

(In case you are just joining us, and because not everyone is as obsessed with Hell’s Kitchen as I am, I’ll just remind you that Mitch Omer is the owner of Hell’s Kitchen and the author of Damn Good Food – 157 recipes from Hell’s Kitchen.)

I was up late writing the blog post for that day when I noticed the comment. I think I actually leapt out of my chair after I read it. Kira was already in bed, but I almost ran upstairs and woke her up just to tell her. Luckily Melanie was still up so I had someone to tell my good news to. I was happy about Annie’s comment for so many reasons. I was excited to know that she was reading the blog and that possibly others connected to Hell’s Kitchen were reading it as well. I couldn’t believe my luck that she would share one of her recipes with me. Many of the recipes in the first chapter of the cookbook are things that Annie cooked for her family – I got a bonus Annie recipe! I’ve added it officially to the Damn Good Recipes page and I knew that I would need to make this as part of my project.

I wanted to make it the very next day, but Kira pointed out that we still had some of the other horseradish left and we couldn’t eat roast beef sandwiches two days in a row. I didn’t really follow her logic, but I conceded and waited until this week to plan the same meal again. This time using Annie’s recipe for the horseradish.

I just whipped up a batch of Annie’s Creamy Horseradish and even though it is for tomorrow night’s dinner I had to have a little taste. It is delicious and far superior to the other recipe. I am tempted to make myself a sandwich right now, but then we’d be short for dinner tomorrow.

I want to thank Annie for sharing her recipe with me and for taking the time to let me know she was reading the blog. It may sound a little sappy, but it was a wonderful moment for me and definitely a highlight of the whole Mike/Mitch project.

Thank You, Annie!

Bonus Recipe #1: Annie’s Creamy Horseradish

Damn Good Book Dedication: To Dana and Annie Omer (inspirations inside the kitchen and out) and Aunt Frances (Patron Saint of Lost Nephews)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2011 11:05 am

    How awesome that Annie Omer reads your blog! I got excited for you just reading that.

  2. February 22, 2011 6:56 am

    that’s very wonderful. the world of blogging is so cool. W.D. Snodgrass’s widow read a post I wrote about her husband (ahem–he is a Pulitzer Prize winning poet, if you don’t know) and sent an email. David Slavitt (another writer) also read my blog and commented. And one of the Red Clay Ramblers (my favorite string band) is now a regular reader of my blog. the internet is an amazing amazing place and the connections can be wonderful.

    meanwhile, i am certain that i could easily eat roast beef sandwiches twice in two days. maybe even twice in one day.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 386 other followers

